Let me start by reassuring you that although the filling of a mince pie is called 'mincemeat', is has no ground pork in it! Traditionally, mincemeat has animal-based suet in it - just as many dishes use lard, or gelatin, both of which are also animal-based. If you prefer, you can make mincemeat with vegetable suet, and you can buy vegetarian mincemeat.
Do's and Don'ts
Don't overfill the pies
Do brush the pies with egg wash and, post baking, do sift powdered sugar (icing sugar) over the pies
Do trust in the fact that the pies will be almost as wonderful days after you bake them
Don't use a pie tin that has sides that are too steep
Do make mincemeat now, for next year
Do feel perfectly satisfied with buying mincemeat
Comments